New role questions

Questions related to program, planning, assessing, managing documentation, implementing EYLF, MTOP, NQS and other approved frameworks.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Melissa.metlika

New role questions

Post by Melissa.metlika » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:34 am

Hi everyone,
I have just taken on a new position in my OSHC service as Team Leader. This role has only just been created to help reduce the coordinators work load as she has been doing everything by herself.
My role includes programming and planning.
I am currently studying my diploma and am almost finished but have had NO experience in programming and planning. My question is what would be the best way to go about it? What resources should I look up on? What’s the best effective way to do it (i only get 4 hours a week of admin time)
An overview on my service is - we only do after school care and school holidays. My main focus for now is ASC. We usually arrive at our service at 3:45, get straight into afternoon tea then have our afternoon activities. There is normally myself and one other staff member there and we average 18 children a day. We currently only have a very basic weekly plan, and have not got our observations or portfolios happening. This is something I want to change but find it hard to just get our daily journal done in the 2 hours we have on the floor.
I have come from a LDC background so I’m still trying to find the best way to tackle the short time frame we have to get documenting done. Any suggestions or comments would be much appreciated and I look forward to seeing your comments!
Thank you Melissa 😊

Lorina

Re: New role questions

Post by Lorina » Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:58 am

Just wanted to know that I have a response for you, however my info is another device at home so I’ll answer your question once I get home by evening...

:geek:,
Lorina

Lorina

Post by Lorina » Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:14 pm

Ok, I'm back!