Guidance for growth as a child care educator

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
trish73
Participator
Participator

Guidance for growth as a child care educator

Post by trish73 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:23 pm

Hi, I obtained my certificate 3 three years ago and I started working as a casual for almost 6 months and studying my diploma in childcare. Because I am working as a casual I feel like I'm forgetting everything that I have studied in my certificate three because I have been out of practice. Eventhough I appreciate the centre I am working for as a casual, my confidence that I felt when I finish my cert 3 course is fading away.
And while I am studying towards a diploma, I can't help to think will I still be in the same position as a casual and feel out of practice when I have my diploma.
I think when you don't get work straight away after obtaining a qualification it affects my confidence in my performance in my work.
Now if the centre gives me a level three position maybe in the future, my confidence is not there like it was before and I would probably need guidance or mentoring.
My question is how long should I work as a casual for in a centre with a level three and studying towards a diploma ?
I just don't to always remain as a casual, it would be nice to experience working as different levels of the qualifications that I have achieved.

Lorina

Re: Guidance for growth as a child care educator

Post by Lorina » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:14 am