What to do when work placement doesn't work out?

Forum for all questions, issues and concerns when completing work placement within an early childhood setting.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Kirst79

What to do when work placement doesn't work out?

Post by Kirst79 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:56 pm

Hello, I am new to this site so I hope that I am in the right area to ask this question.

It's a little hard to explain but here it goes. I am currently studying Cert 3 in Children's Services. I am doing it through a training company. The trainers are from a childcare centre and there are several scattered around the southern side of Adelaide. I live in the northern suburbs and find it quite hard and costly to go to their closest centre to me.

The time scale for work placement has been divided up into 2 weeks fulltime work placement (1 week I have already completed and the next one due in April) There are quite a few students in my class that are able to regularly visit and/or working at their childcare centres while studying. (I hope this makes sense so far).

My problem is, I am unable to regularly visit the closest centre to help with this course (above the allocated week placement) as it takes me an hour to get there and I have a child at school and I can't afford to put him into OSHC and I feel that it is unfair to drop him at a friends house too early and expect more from their generosity of taking him to school.

I have spoken to my trainer about getting work experience at another centre that is closer to where I live. She said that was fine as long as I do the last week of placement at their centre.

Now here is the real stumbling block, I did approach a childcare centre today to ask for work experience.
Their issue with me was that I didn't know how many hours of work experience I needed and what sheets they needed to sign off.