Receiving Feedback From Educators During Work Placement

Forum for all questions, issues and concerns when completing work placement within an early childhood setting.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
MustHaveCoffee

Receiving Feedback From Educators During Work Placement

Post by MustHaveCoffee » Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:35 pm

I’m studying my Diploma of ECEC and I’ve finished my first placement, and I passed with many positive comments from my Focus Lecturer.

Yet instead of celebrating, I feel as though somehow I failed momentously and now just want to crawl under a rock and hide.

I found that the children loved being with me (and would drop everything to run up to me in the mornings).

The parents only ever spoke positively to myself and Educators about seeing a male studying the profession and how their children were taking to me.

The Educators only ever had positive words to say (and I overheard several discuss how I fitted in and should be offered a job).

Yet…

I can count the conversations (sorry, sentences) that the Director spoke to me, on one hand….. and then I would have fingers to spare (spent most of the morning in the room, before they introduced herself to me).

Conversations with my mentor and the room leader weren’t much better, and the first week of placement saw me have to take the initiative to immerse myself into the children’s daily routines and care, because I was given no direction (walked into the room, was introduced and that was it).…. And it was the only way I could ensure that I was covering off my assessment competency requirements.