studying while working - cert or dip???

General discussions on Diploma or Advanced Diploma of Children's Services.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Diploma or Advanced Diploma in Children Services. Please refer to Diploma Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
rclohesy

studying while working - cert or dip???

Post by rclohesy » Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:11 pm

I am wanting to enrol at Open Colleges asap as I want to start working as soon as I can. I have my degree in primary education but no experience in early childhood. I wanted to do the new diploma that I understand has the cert III embedded as eventually I want to become room leader or a kindergarten teacher. When talking to the careers advisor at open colleges they told me that I would be better off doing my Cert III as I can no longer work before completing my qualification and I will finish quicker and can later on get credit transfers for the 14 units that cross over with the Cert III & Dip and complete of the diploma later on. I am just wondering if this information and advice is all correct or is this open colleges wanting to get me to complete 2 separate courses and pay more money????
Thanks
Rachel

Lorina

Re: studying while working - cert or dip???

Post by Lorina » Sun Sep 07, 2014 4:45 am

Hi Rachel,

Interesting advice... In my opinion I would rather complete the Diploma. As you said it has the cert 3 course embedded in it. Gaining credit by completing the cert 3 course first isn't that crucial and by the time it takes you to complete the cert 3 course you could have completed the Diploma.

Just went onto the ACECQA site and read their information on "Actively Working Towards":

Actively Working Towards An Approved Diploma Level Qualification