Looking for a Job - Studying Diploma, No Experience

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Macoola
Contributor
Contributor

Looking for a Job - Studying Diploma, No Experience

Post by Macoola » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:11 pm

Hello

I am currently looking for a job as an assistant as I am half way through my diploma and have not worked in the industry yet. I have applied for a couple of jobs but nothing has worked out as I have no experience. I was wondering what others did when they were starting out? Did you just hand your resume out to nearby centres even if they don't have any jobs advertised? Or any other suggestions would be great.

Thanks Macoola
Last edited by Lorina on Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: topic heading has been edited

Lorina

Re: Looking for a Job

Post by Lorina » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:08 am

Hi Macoola,

Even though your halfway through your diploma centres are always in need of diploma trained staff. However, because you lack experience it may be a bit of a downfall. Some centres may be hesitant to put you into a room leader position as you have never worked in childcare before. You'll find that although there are a lot of jobs available especially for diploma's typically centres want someone who has experience so they can throw them in the deep end.

It sucks I know because you need to start some where... I know you haven't had much luck but you'll find a centre who is willing to give you an opportunity. You may have to find a smaller private centre rather than a chain centre. Handing in your resume at different centres is a good way to go even though they may not be looking. You could also mention that you are available for casual work as well. This way you can get your experience up.