search aussie childcare network

New Star Rating System For NQS

  • Written by 
  • Print
New Star Rating System For NQS Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

From July 2020, early childhood services in NSW will have to display their National Quality Standard rating under a simplified star system.

The new system will simplify the rating system and require services to display one star if they require significant improvement, two stars if they are working towards the standard, three if they meet the standard and four if they are exceeding it.

Services that have been assessed as "excellent" will be able to apply for a fifth star.

CEO, Samatha Page, of Early Childhood Australia, said moving to a star rating system will help parents and the community better understand how their early childhood service is performing against the National Quality Standards.

"Parents haven't understood the standard but people associate star rating systems with quality and hopefully this will encourage them to stop and take a look at the poster, which also breaks down each of the seven areas," Ms Page said.

Services will begin to display the stars where parents can see them clearly. Services will also be requested to provide detailed rating information to families during enrolment from July 1, 2020.

New Star Rating System Will Highlight Underperforming Childcare Centres, The Sydney Morning Herald, 23 November 2019


Child Care Documentation App

© 2009-2024 Aussie Childcare Network Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved.