search aussie childcare network

Changes To NQS Across Australia Commences

  • Written by 
  • Print
Changes To NQS Across Australia Commences

From today 01, Feb 2018 the new National Quality Standards will come into effect and all early childhood services will be assessed and rated against the new NQS.

The updated NQS uses clearer language with the same focus on quality education and care. The number of standards has been reduced from 18 to 15, and the elements from 58 to 40.

You can find the list of updated National Quality Standards and Elements here: The National Quality Standard and Elements

If you are using Appsessment, our documentation app, the NQS has already been updated to reflect these new changes.

There is also a new rule for determining the Exceeding NQS rating for quality areas. All standards within a quality area must be rated Exceeding NQS for that quality area to be rated Exceeding NQS.

In determining the Exceeding NQS for ratings and standards there is a new guidance for services and assessors. From today 01 Feb, this new guidance will be used in quality rating assessments.

Services are also encouraged to update their QIP to the updated NQS. QIP's must be updated at least annually and are taken into account in determining rating levels.By regularly updating your QIP you will help to ensure that your service meets the requirements of the National Quality Standards.

You can find a copy of a QIP template here: Quality Improvement Plan

The Quality Improvement Plan template will help you to reflect on and improve your service.

For more detailed information on all of these changes, please visit ACECQA.


Last modified on Thursday, February 1, 2018
Child Care Documentation App

© 2009-2024 Aussie Childcare Network Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved.