Help with Room Leader

Questions relating to staff, dealing with parents, work ethics, implementing regulations, room management, supporting team members, motivating staff, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
missie

Help with Room Leader

Post by missie » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:35 pm

I am a trainee that started in child care in April and at my current centre in May. The children, facilities and hours are great. The only problem is my room leader. I am almost certain that she doesn't like me and it makes me very uncomfortable.

My room leader is very aloof and impatient with me, and I am really trying my best to please her and be professional but some times it gets really hard.

I have worked with children through a volunteer organisation for five years, am organised, punctual and smiley, so I have no idea what I am doing wrong.

I don't know what to do. Help!

saz_123

Re: Help with Room Leader

Post by saz_123 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:46 pm

Hi Missie!

I am sorry you have found yourself in this situation. It is really important than you have good communication with your group leader. I would try and sit down with her and talk about what her expectations are of you, and vise versa. Don't be afraid to say how your feeling to her as she may not realise that she does it. I find it helps when the room is quiet to try and spark a conversation about yourself or try and find something in common to ease the tension, humour works well too. I hope some of this helps and good luck :)

rachelroo

Post by rachelroo » Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:39 pm

Hi Missy,
You're in WA so I guess your not talking about me!! ha,ha
But seriously I had one like that when I first started and she was just stand-offish with people she didn't know, we ended up getting on really well after a few months.