Completing A Log Book During A Traineeship

Questions on starting a Cert 3 or Diploma traineeship, duties during a traineeship, traineeship working conditions etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
MJ1991
Participator
Participator

Completing A Log Book During A Traineeship

Post by MJ1991 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:59 am

Hi guys,

Just a general question as I'm not really sure where I stand with this and would like some advice.

So basically I am a trainee studying my certificate 3, I work full time and do my assignments during the 3 study hours given to me at the centre where i work and also after work and on weekends in my own time. However I have been given a 'Student work experience and code of conduct log book" by my RTO and been told that i need to complete this as well as the 18 units, but having had a read through this log book, it refers to work placement and having the nominated supervisor of the centre where i am completing 'work placement' check off a list of tasks that a student must do and be marked competent for, it also asks for a report form to be filled out. In this log book I also have extra questions to complete that refer back to the units of the certificate.

What I am wondering is, is it necessary to complete this log book? I have had plenty of students at the centre where I work and seen them doing the log book, I also work with other trainees doing the same certificate that say they have nothing like that although they are with different companies and I'm not sure if its a standard thing or if its at the desecration of the RTO.

Any advice on this would be helpful as I plan on talking to my trainer about it but would like to have something to back me up.

Thank you in advance.
Kind regards,
Melanie

Lorina

Re: Completing A Log Book During A Traineeship

Post by Lorina » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:28 pm