Dealing with problems in a childcare environment

Share your work experiences, have a rant, discuss concerns, get advice for work problems, discuss work issues, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Stephaaane

Dealing with problems in a childcare environment

Post by Stephaaane » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:01 pm

Hello, this is my first post as it's been something I've become very concerned with.

I recently completed my Diploma and have been working in a center for two weeks now as Room assistant. I'm still not very confident, I don't have the years of experience that many other educators have.

In my opinion, there are many problems. One happening just today, I am new to the room (today), the children didn't know me and I was unfamiliar with the routines. Their room leader had been assigned into another room starting today and the new room leader was absent. Although three children were sleeping, I was alone with eight children for well over half an hour (reminder ratio is 1:4). Three girls that "needed" sleep didn't want to and wanted to play outside instead. Ex-room leader walked in to get a few things and stated, "It's crazy in here". I asked one the educators if I could get another educator to assist me in cleaning up and settling the children down, after ten minutes I finally got someone.

Overview: I feel my ideas and beliefs aren't being... listened to? And quite honestly, I'm scared to tell others. But perhaps it's my fault for not looking too deeply into the service and their philosophy.

Stephaaane

Re: Dealing with problems in a childcare environment

Post by Stephaaane » Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:23 pm

More backstory
First Week: I originally was accepted as a job as a room leader for another group of children. After two days the educators and director said I wasn't ready to be a room leader. I was moved into another room as Room assistant.