Difference between level 3 and 4 educator.

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
trish73
Participator
Participator

Difference between level 3 and 4 educator.

Post by trish73 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:51 pm

Hi, I am working as a casual and getting paid as a level three and I am currently studying Diploma of childcare. When I complete my Diploma, can I still work as a level three and have an increase in pay because I will be having a diploma level?

And does a level 4 childcare educator mainly just do paper work?
Because as a casual I just see the level 3 and casual mainly spending more time with the children while the level 4 educators are out in the programming room.
Between the level 3 and 4 educator is the work load stress much different?
Sometimes while working as working as a casual, I think writing programs and setting up different activities for children could make things a bit more interesting, because at times I get bored just supervising children.

Lorina

Re: Difference between level 3 and 4 educator.

Post by Lorina » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:56 pm

Hi, I am working as a casual and getting paid as a level three and I am currently studying Diploma of childcare. When I complete my Diploma, can I still work as a level three and have an increase in pay because I will be having a diploma level?

- When working it depends on your job position as well as your qualification. If you are currently on a Level 3 - this means that you are an assistant educator. When you complete your Diploma you will still be on Level 3 however it will be Level 3.4 - which is an assitant educator with a diploma qualification.

And does a level 4 childcare educator mainly just do paper work? Because as a casual I just see the level 3 and casual mainly spending more time with the children while the level 4 educators are out in the programming room.