Appropriate discipline of children

Discuss issues regarding children's behaviour at your centre, disciplining children, dealing with difficult child, biting child, aggresive children and more..
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
megs_95
Helper
Helper

Appropriate discipline of children

Post by megs_95 » Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:13 pm

Things are going rather well in my traineeship now but I have noticed a few things - from one or two staff - that seem wrong to me. One staff member I've seen handle children quite roughly, such as pulling them by their shirt to where they should be (when the child was running off, being silly, ignoring/being defiant to staff's requests). Another I've seen quite roughly pick up a child having a full meltdown tantrum (which is a frequent occurrence for the particular child) and just about dump her onto a bed...

As a new trainee I feel it's not my place to tell the other staff to stop, and at the same time, I feel I shouldn't go to the director because these staff in particular are likely to ask around til they find out who "told" and treat them differently.

I guess my question is, should I tell the director about things like this?
Plus - in these situations, what is the appropriate way to deal with a child? e.g. a toddler who is running around the room during group time when he should be sitting down, and screams "NO!" at staff when they ask him to sit, regardless of whether he is asked nicely or in a "cranky voice"... or a 2 year old who is crying and whining "for attention" as the room's staff say (and then they tell me to ignore her)? I find it difficult to just ignore a distressed 2 year old tugging at my leg wanting to be picked up and cuddled... surely there is some reason for the child crying so much, a reason for the child "wanting attention" as some of the staff have said?

Any help is appreciated :)
(p.s. not sure if this is the right section for this topic... sorry if it's wrong!)