Overwhelmed, should I give up my position?

Share your work experiences, have a rant, discuss concerns, get advice for work problems, discuss work issues, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
CopperClouds

Overwhelmed, should I give up my position?

Post by CopperClouds » Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:21 pm

I'm a trainee working in a long day care, so 4 day 38 hour working week, and my position is an Assistant in toddler 2-3 yr old room. I started out as an RDO Aide and they offered me a full time position as an Assistant in the pre-kindy room. It was fantastic, yes stressful at times and sometimes doing my cert took a back seat because I was concentrating so much on room duties and outdoor duties (we have a rather large outdoor area with a bike track, playground, sandpits, grass areas, waterplay and a verandah with various activities set up). I started near the end of the year and found out we have regular room changes to get experience. I applied for the junior kindy room hearing that it was going to be implementing the new changes (smaller room numbers from 12, gradually going down) and thought this meant I could really concentrate on my study and really getting time with the children as I have had wonderful Group Leaders who really allow for input from their Assistants. Long story short I got the room I applied for and was ready for a new beginning. However with our occupancy low overall yet overbooked in the toddler room below us, this meant we had to take on the numbers because our room could technically have 16 children...although I later found out it can't be more than 12 unless they are all over 2.5 yrs old. My group leader went on her 2 week vacation during January which is when we are supposed to be getting our room checklist done so although she did quite a bit, it did not stand out as best as other rooms because she is a single parent taking the time off to experience her child's 1st year of school. So the Director put