First time Room Leader in need of advice

Share your work experiences, have a rant, discuss concerns, get advice for work problems, discuss work issues, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Jc29

First time Room Leader in need of advice

Post by Jc29 » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:23 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm in need of some advice. I've recently taken on my first role as room leader and am finding it a little tough. I completed my diploma last year and have been excited to run my own room ever since. I was granted the opportunity recently and began getting to grips with the room.

After a week I was visited by the Director to discuss the concerns of the staff from my new room. I was a little shocked as I had barely started and already seemed to be letting the side down. I listened and reassured the Director I was working on things and would "hurry up". Two more week past and I'm starting to get my programming head together and started to plan some activities for our children. However, I also had to go and see the Director again.

I appreciate the importance of forward planning and have an idea of the activities I want to teach the children, and I understand the concerns of the Director and my staff, but am I really out of line thinking that they haven't really given me a chance to do anything before they started to complain?

It's made me feel incompetent and like I'd over stretched myself going for promotion too soon. I discuss this with the Director but the solution put to me seemed to be to make me a relief staff again and stop running the room. I'm worried I've taken too long getting to know the routine and children, rather than planning ahead.

I'd really just like to know two things I think:

1) Is this three weeks a reasonable time frame to have forward planning and a new room under control?
2) Is it reasonable to be expected to complete this alone on my first job as room leader?