Qualification assessment

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
kdUK

Qualification assessment

Post by kdUK » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:01 pm

Hi all, i hope that I will be able to get some advice from you all :)

I currently work as a nanny but I come from a centre background with nearly 10 years experience in the UK. Although I am hoping to return to a centre soon, I am currently having my UK qualifications assessed which I understand I would need to have to work in a centre.
I have recently found out that my current position will be coming to an end soon & although I have enjoyed my time as a nanny I am keen to return to working in a centre rather than continuing as a nanny. I don't believe that my qualification assessment will have been completed by then so I am unsure on how to move forward. I have been informed that my lowest level qualification is equivalent to a diploma in children's services. I believe my higher level qualification may be equivalent to an advanced diploma although this hasn't been confirmed as yet.

Am I correct in thinking that I will need these qualifications to be able to work within a centre or is there a way of me working unqualified or in a 'working towards' capacity? Has anyone here been in the same situation?

Any advice or guidance you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

K

Lorina

Re: Qualification assessment

Post by Lorina » Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:31 pm

Hi K,