an Observation

General discussions on Certificate 3 and Certificate 4 in Children's Services and Childcare Traineeship FAQs.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Certificate 3. Please refer to Cert 3 Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
dulciean
Consultant
Consultant

an Observation

Post by dulciean » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:58 pm

hello! I don't want this post to sound like 'sour grapes' - am just putting it out there and hoping one of you might have some insight.
i am currently seeking a position as a Certificate III CCW. I have over 8 years' experience in the field, excellent references, experience across all ages and areas , have been a GL and an assistant. I"m smiley, friendly, and extremely articulate. However, i went to 10 interviews before being offered a position( and -as I have explained in another thread!) THAT turned out to be a big disaster. I got to thinking it might be my age- i am 40 years young next year- but I'm still pretty switched on and youthful(or so I'm told!)
Then i was speaking to a friend/collegue with same quals, and about 6 years' experience. She's around 23 years old-and is also going to many interviews without even hearing back.
I see many CCW's without the passion and experience i know i have- Why is this happening? where are all the jobs? :?
i am targeting the NFP sector now- will hold out until i make it through to being offered employment with one of them. i have a couple of interview lined up over the coming weeks.
Would love to hear any thoughts/input on this quandary!

Miss_Annette

Re: an Observation

Post by Miss_Annette » Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Hey,
Its not your age i work with a lady who has just celebrated her 50th :)