Doing a Diploma, looking towards work experience and a paid position

General discussions on Diploma or Advanced Diploma of Children's Services.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Diploma or Advanced Diploma in Children Services. Please refer to Diploma Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
Angel127

Doing a Diploma, looking towards work experience and a paid position

Post by Angel127 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:31 pm

Hello Educators

This is my first post. I am looking for some advice and to hear other’s experiences, please.

I am currently studying a Diploma of Early Education and care, via distance education. I am at the stage of looking towards work placement and thereafter, a paid position. My biggest concern at the moment, is the hours and rosters in LDC, are not easy to work around, having school aged children of my own. My youngest child, is in kindy next year, 2 full days and 1 half day a week. My husband can start work earlier in the morning, to pick the children up in the afternoon, but it has to be consistent. I don’t have family to help out, so I will have to rely on before and after hours care. My concern is, not so much before hours care, or starting early (myself), but I want to be there for my children after school. I proffer if my children were not in after hours care all afternoon, every day and the fact I will miss out on being there for them. So maybe being able to finished before 4.30pm.

I love working with children and families and have a lot of skills from pervious roles (community services, family support and youth work-working with young parents and their children) I could use in LDC. But I am feeling very discouraged right now.