Teacher award and not childcare award...

Discussions on Childcare Wages. Are you getting paid the right amount? Just started a new position and not sure of your wages? Ask here and you'll find your answers.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Sheshek

Teacher award and not childcare award...

Post by Sheshek » Sat May 01, 2021 8:13 am

Hey, so I’ve recently started work in a childcare centre, which is within a private school, my question is:
That I’m studying my diploma, and they have told me, once completed I will not get paid diploma rate, unless I become group lead as they are under the teachers award. I’m an assistant in the toddlers room,(cert 3 qualified, studying towards diploma on $23.11 an hr) and my lead educator is on $24.64, she’s held her diploma for a year and studying her advanced diploma. Does this sound right as my last centre GL was on $27 + an hour?

Thanks all.
Sheena

Lorina

Re: Teacher award and not childcare award...

Post by Lorina » Tue May 04, 2021 7:05 pm

From my understanding as per the Educational Services Teachers Award, you cannot be on this Award unless you are the ECT of the service.

As for getting a Diploma rate, even if you are not group leader in the Children's Services Award there is Level 3.4 which is for diploma qualified assistant educators. It's a little more than a cert 3 assistant educator and a little less that a group leader.

Your pay rate sounds right. You are currently on Level 3.1 which is $23.09 per hour.

As for your lead educator her pay rate of $24.64 is level 4.1A. This is for an unqualified group leader. You mentioned she has had her diploma for a year so she should be on level 4.1 which is $27.21 per hour.

So your group leader may want to discuss with management why she is on an unqualified pay rate.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

:geek:,
Lorina

BuzzyB33

Post by BuzzyB33 » Thu May 06, 2021 12:27 am

Hi Lorina,