need advice - payment during school holidays

Discussions on Childcare Wages. Are you getting paid the right amount? Just started a new position and not sure of your wages? Ask here and you'll find your answers.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
yasmeen

need advice - payment during school holidays

Post by yasmeen » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:10 pm

Hi everyone,
Need some Advice
I have been working in a preschool for the past 5 years, i started this job straight after i completed the Diploma in children studies. i just wanted to know do all preschool workers get paid during school holidays?. At the end of each term we go in to the centre for about 3-4 days for paperwork tidy etc. and then the Christmas brake which is the same as school holidays we go back a few days before to set up and tidy up again.
We are given 2 hours off the floor time a week depending on if all staff is present on that day, we take work home if it needs to be done,we start work at 8.15 to 3.30 and are paid for those hours only regardless of what time we finish, we are normally there till about 5pm everyday, i don't think I have ever left work before 4pm and sometimes come in on saturdays too.
I just wanted to know if this is normal or am i just asking for too much to be able to spend some time with my own family also.
Seems to me that creating the relationship's with the children's family is more important then my own at times. i feel overwhelmed at times.
Are these normal hours for a preschool staff???
Please help

Lorina

Re: need advice

Post by Lorina » Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:33 am

It doesn't sound right... Whatever extra work you do that are outside of your normal working hours you should be paid overtime or time in lieu depending on what your centre offers. You shouldn't have to come in on the weekend or even take work home with you. If this does occur then you need to be paid for it since you are practically working during this time.