I am getting right pay

Discussions on Childcare Wages. Are you getting paid the right amount? Just started a new position and not sure of your wages? Ask here and you'll find your answers.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Kirti

I am getting right pay

Post by Kirti » Fri Nov 06, 2020 12:45 pm

hello Lorina,

I am working as a diploma holder in preschool room. I am running one of the preschool. Can you please guide me with my salary as I am not sure on what level I should be on. I found out yesterday that my employer is paying me as on level 3.4(Team Member - L_STL (FT/PT) working as full time. I saw fews days back that I got no raise just 5 cents so I am bit confuse. I will give little brief about my study and work. I started working as a trainee in feb. 2015 and finished my certificate 3 in june 2016. I am continously working. In 2019 September I finished my Diploma in early childhood education while I was working full time. Then, they moved me to preschool room. I am doing all the duties what room leader does but we have floor leaders not room leaders and she has just started but its been a year I am doing all the duties.

Can you please guide me what is my level.

thanks alot in advance
Kirti

Lorina

Re: I am getting right pay

Post by Lorina » Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:16 am

Hi Kirti,

At the moment you're on Level 3.4 - this is for a Diploma Qualified Assistant.

However, you mentioned you're doing everything that a room leader does. Does this include programming and planning, observations, learning stories etc.

As a Room Leader, you will also have the following tasks:

Responsible, in consultation with the Assistant Director/Director for the preparation, implementation and evaluation of a developmentally appropriate program for individual children or groups.
Responsible to the Assistant Director/Director for the supervision of students on placement.