How to start my career in Childcare

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
sappy

How to start my career in Childcare

Post by sappy » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:22 am

Greetings child lovers,
I am very glad that I have found this childcare network that seems to answer almost every matter.
Introducing myself, I am a 24 years old female recently moved to Melbourne on a temporary work visa with unconditional permit and will be soon applying for a permanent residence. I have done Masters in Computing Systems from United Kingdom, but then I have decided to change my career to childcare. So, I have done a Diploma in Pre and Primary Teacher Training.
As I dive into job search , I am all confused. I have recently got my Wor king With Children Check and First Aid level 4 certificate. Unfortunately I have no local experience and have no references from similar field. I am all set with the diploma, wwcc and First aid certificate but can't find any entry level jobs.
Can someone please suggest me what kind of entry level roles should I look for. Is there any job agency you suggest?
Any suggestions or introductions will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in anticipation,
Sappy

Lorina

Re: How to start my career in Childcare

Post by Lorina » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:47 pm

Hi Sappy,

Welcome to the forum! :wave:

I'm Lorina - You will see me around the forum a lot! Happy to help out in any way I can!

In regards to your Diploma did you complete that in the UK? If so, before you can actually begin working in childcare you will need to have it assessed against the Australian qualification to see if you can use it while working in a childcare centre here.

Where did you complete your Diploma qualification?

Do you have any references from UK while working with children?

How long have you worked in childcare previously (doesn't have to be in Australia)?

:geek:,
Lorina