Diploma student looking to apply for childcare position

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
kylie2676

Diploma student looking to apply for childcare position

Post by kylie2676 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:50 pm

Hi all,

I did have a quick browse of the topics and couldn't find what I am about to ask.

Basically, I am studying a diploma of early childhood education and care and have completed my first work placement. I have not studied my certificate III and have read many a time that once you have finished your first work placement in the diploma course you have completed the equivalent of a certificate III.

I have just found a position that doesn't weigh their decisions based on qualifications or experience which is rare and I am considering applying.

My question is, with my current qualification (or lack there of) what pay grade would I be? I am very keen to apply and want to at least land an interview therefore my follow up question is: am I shooting myself in the foot by thinking that it is a good idea for me to mention that I would be happy to accept a position and be contracted for a 12 month period where I would be paid as a certificate III qualified educator?

I am in the final stages of completing my diploma and am only in need of finding a centre that will accept me as an online TAFE student and has the time for me. But ultimately I would like to gain paid experience in childcare rather than continuing to work in Outside School Care for at least the next 5 months just so I can meet the typical required criteria of someone with paid experience working with children.

Hoping that all made sense and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this

Thanks - Kim

Lorina

Re: Diploma student looking to apply for childcare position

Post by Lorina » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi Kim,