new to childcare - casual/relief worker question

Questions on working as a casual. Such as job responsibilities, what to do, finding casual work etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
flossie

new to childcare - casual/relief worker question

Post by flossie » Sat Oct 26, 2013 10:28 pm

I am studying to be an early childhood teacher, and I wanted to gain experience in the industry. I have just started a casual position at a childcare centre. I find that some weeks I get rostered shifts, and then others I get nothing but I might get a last minute call out on an available day. I really need stability in the days I work (I have young children), so ideally I want part-time employment. Do other employers roster casual staff regular shifts, or is my experience the norm? I want to ask my director for part-time employment, but I suspect that there is a hierarchy that goes with permanent staff and I don't want to seem obnoxious by asking before I have 'earned' it. Being relief/casual really messes with my head. I am constantly worrying about my income and need the job security. Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

Lorina

Re: new to childcare - casual/relief worker question

Post by Lorina » Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:02 pm

Hi Flossie,