Book reading in OSHC

Childcare room set-up ideas, strategies for teaching children, group times, Montessori teaching and more..
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Macoola
Contributor
Contributor

Book reading in OSHC

Post by Macoola » Wed May 21, 2014 1:10 pm

Hi

I have been working in after school care for about 4 months now. I would like to introduce story reading. I have done it a couple of times while the children have been painting or drawing, but have found it difficult. My oldest child I have is 13 in 3 months and my youngest is still 4.5. It is near impossible to read books that they all enjoy and understand. Also it is difficult to keep the children quiet, I don't want to force them to listen but I can't read while they are talking. It is so different to LDC which I'm used to where all the children must sit on the mat and listen to the stories. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Macoola

Lorina

Re: Book reading in OSHC

Post by Lorina » Wed May 21, 2014 3:21 pm

Within an oosh service sitting the children on a mat to listen to a story is not necessary. They are older and stories may not interest them at this stage. At school, they do enough sitting and listening as it and the last they want is to do it again after school, so it's probably while you're having difficulty with it...

Even though there are other ways to go about it...You can set up a little reading area in a quiet corner in the centre or even outside under a tree. Add beanbags, or blanket and pillows, baskets of books, anything that would make this area cosy. When you notice children reading for themselves then you can offer to read those children a story... Just don't expect the whole group to participate...

Hope this gives you some ideas,

:geek:,
L.A

MarkPowter
Participator
Participator

Post by MarkPowter » Wed May 21, 2014 8:01 pm

Hello Macoola!