Toileting accidents

Share your work experiences, have a rant, discuss concerns, get advice for work problems, discuss work issues, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Teresa_Christina94

Toileting accidents

Post by Teresa_Christina94 » Sat May 04, 2013 4:21 pm

I am a trainee in a preschool and have a couple incidents with one of the classroom teachers that I think she has reacted wrongly and was wondering if I am thinking correctly.

One day at work we had quite a few children have toileting accidents in the classroom and one teacher asked a three year old rather rudely who has been in undies for a while if she needs to be put in a nappy.

Another incident was a two year old had a toileting accident outside, I changed her and left one other staff member to control where she had the accident. I noticed the child was upset while I was changing her, I asked her if she was okay and she just looked at me and started to cry. I asked her if she was upset because she had an accident and she nodded and continued to cry. I was hugging her and trying to reassure her that it is okay when a teacher came in and practically took her out of my arms rudely and said I needed to get outside now because we were understaffed. Now I understand the understaffed part but not letting me quickly make sure that the child was okay I think is wrong.

Am I right in assuming that in the above two incidents the teacher was in the wrong?? Help please?

justme

Re: Toileting accidents

Post by justme » Sat May 04, 2013 10:17 pm

Talk with the teacher and ask her if you did the right thing in those situations, ask for feedback and say you have been thinking about it for a while.

She may apologise for her behaviour and explain her reasoning behind her behaviour

Kaz
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Kaz » Sun May 05, 2013 8:24 am