Require advice on Career Change

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
pavithras

Require advice on Career Change

Post by pavithras » Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:54 am

Hi

I am an IT professional working for more than 9 years in the IT field. I work in Sydney CBD which demands an hour of travel from the place where I stay. Eventually I am not available at home for about 11-12 hours in a day. And also my job becomes stressful sometimes but I wouldn't complain about the pay. I get about $35 an hour including superannuation and tax.

Now I am thinking for a career change for a few reasons:
1. Work nearby home
2. Opt for flexible working hours
3. Spend more time with my child and take care of house work at my own convenient time
4. Reduce stress and work in a more relaxed environment

Please let me know if working as an Early Childhood Educator in a Child care will be a good option. If that is the case please answer my queries below:
1. Which course should I choose to study? I want to enroll for a short term course first. And which courses can I do in parallel?
2. Can I work as soon as I enroll for a course or should I wait to complete the course?
3. Will I get a job with no experience in the field?
4. What will be the fees like (for an Aus PR)?
5. Which are the best institutes to do this course (distance learning)?
6. How much pay can I expect to start afresh with no child care experience?
7. What other benefits do I get?
8. Can I choose to work flexible hours or maybe 6 hours a day only?
9. Do I get any leaves during school vacation?
10. Can I become a primary school teacher after working in child care for a while?

Lorina

Re: Require advice on Career Change

Post by Lorina » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:20 am