Overseas Qualifications

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Jacks75

Overseas Qualifications

Post by Jacks75 » Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:15 pm

Hi all, I moved here from the USA about 8 month ago. I have been a childcare teacher for 10 years. Currently I am working as a nanny. I'm having a hard time figuring out if I'm qualified to work in QLD as a preschool teacher. I completed what I needed in the states to let you work with children and I'm just not sure what it matches here in Australia. I tried getting my qualifications assessed, but they said I was missing documents. I only have the documents I gave them. In the US you need 12 or more early childhood units which I have completed 12. They do not give you a certificate for completing it, just have to show your center director your class transcripts. I'm just unsure as to what those are equivalent to here (Cert 3)? I'm pretty positive I'm qualified but no clue what it would be called when I apply to schools! Any help would be amazing as I'm not getting the answers from anywhere else! It's hard knowing I was a childcare teacher for 10 years and I'm having the hardest time trying to figure this out! Any insight would be amazing! Thanks :)

Lorina

Re: Overseas Qualifications

Post by Lorina » Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:49 am

Hi There,