Too old for a 36yrs old mom with cert 3.

General discussions on Certificate 3 and Certificate 4 in Children's Services and Childcare Traineeship FAQs.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Certificate 3. Please refer to Cert 3 Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
Jennyloh

Too old for a 36yrs old mom with cert 3.

Post by Jennyloh » Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:32 pm

Hi,

I am a mother and I'm 36 years old. I am currently studying certificate 3 through online study and will have to go for the practicing soon. May I know how do you source for a centre who will take a staff on a temporary basis and do I get paid during my practical with the centre? Furthermore do an older person like me with basic certifcate get paid lower than a youngter? Also anyone can give me a rough idea on the hourly paid in perth for a certificate 3 holder?

Appreciate if anyone of you can share your thoughts or experience. Thanks.

Lorina

Re: Too old for a 36yrs old mom with cert 3.

Post by Lorina » Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:39 pm

Hey Jenny,

Welcome back to Aussie Childcare Network! :wave: ... Haven't seen you around in awhile... I hope you're doing well...

how do you source for a centre who will take a staff on a temporary basis

Practical experience is a time for you to really understand what is required and what it's like when working in a childcare centre… Typically it’s pretty simple to find a childcare centre that you can do practical experience at… Have a look in your area at different childcare centers, basically you contact them and let them know you want to do your work placement there. The director will let you know if they can accommodate you. Most centers are happy to have students along at their centre.