Cert III Over 1 year or 6 months

General discussions on Certificate 3 and Certificate 4 in Children's Services and Childcare Traineeship FAQs.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Certificate 3. Please refer to Cert 3 Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
kelly1212

Cert III Over 1 year or 6 months

Post by kelly1212 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:37 pm

Hi as some of you know I am going to study for my Cert III Children services certificate. Leaving my well paid job and entering the childcare workforce. I'm actually quite excited. People in my work cant believe that I am leaving to pursue this avenue but I love children, have three teens and being stuck in a boring job day in day out for the next 30 years was scaring me Anyway....

Question it has been a long time since I studied (hence why im doing my Cert III first) but I have narrowed it down to two training facilities and I would appreciate your input.

First one;
Community college approx. 40 minutes away (not a problem) delivered 9-3pm one day a week + placements when needed- May be able to start Aug this year......which means not renewing my contract for work... Not really a problem ha-ha.

Second one;
Local Tafe (Which I sadly haven't really heard good things about) the course duration is over 6 months 2 x days a week + placements. However can't start till next year.

If you had a preference would you say do one day or two days? The Tafe is obviously local but.......

The other thing as well. I haven't had a holiday in over 3 years, should I take time out or grab the bull by the horns and go for it?? Ahhhh decisions!!