confused about types of observation and learning story

General discussions on Diploma or Advanced Diploma of Children's Services.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Diploma or Advanced Diploma in Children Services. Please refer to Diploma Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
rosaaustin

confused about types of observation and learning story

Post by rosaaustin » Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:52 pm

Hi
I am studying Diploma (traineeship) and is half way through the course. I am very confused over the use of learning story in relation to observation. Well, I am doing CHCPR509A gather, interpret and use information about children. I know about common types of observation, but this book given to me was published in Feb 2010 and does not mention at all about learning story. I've got the rest of the cluster for the course and there is no other book that is about learning story. Well, I'm required to do alot of observations on a focus child, and the assignments ask me to use anecdotal, time samples, running records. My room leader said they hardly use these types anymore, but most of the times just learning stories.
I'm wondering if you are working in the field, what types of observations are you using, and how is learning stories related? Are you still using anecdotal and running record, etc, anymore? I am thinking I will use these types of observations for my assignment but will try to put in one or two learning stories (maybe with the assistance of my room leader), but I am afraid that without proper studying from a book, I may do it wrong. Or, would it be better that I stick to the requirements of the current book?