Software pros & cons

Questions related to program, planning, assessing, managing documentation, implementing EYLF, MTOP, NQS and other approved frameworks.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
marlichiz

Software pros & cons

Post by marlichiz » Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:52 pm

I'm really new to all of this but have found this site so helpful already ! I am looking into purchasing a software program to help me run my family day care business & was hoping for some feedback from anybody using a program. Just things like the ease of using it, is it cost effective, does it make complying with eylf easier & so on. If anyone has any advice for me it would be very much appreciated :thumbup:

Lorina

Re: Software pros & cons

Post by Lorina » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:41 pm

Hi Marlichiz,

Welcome to Aussie Childcare Network! :wave:

Okay its hard to say if a software will be useful to you or not. It really depends on your requirement, your aim on what you want to achieve from it, as well as your budget. I have worked in a centre that used softwares and also a lot of centres who do not use softwares but instead use their own programming templates. There might be a few who may find that these softwares have helped them and may find it easy. At the same time, there are a lot of them who also find it difficult to learn or too expensive. What works for one centre might not work for another. So there is no straight answer on whether a software is good or not. But if you do consider buying a software, please do consider the following points I've given below. I have listed them so people thinking of purchasing these softwares can make an informed decision. This will help you understand on what to look for and what questions you need to ask before you go ahead spending your hard earned money on something. Hopefully this will be useful to people who may not have considered the cons of these softwares and fall for their amazing marketing strategy.