Career Change Options - Outside of the classroom

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Bensos
Participator
Participator

Career Change Options - Outside of the classroom

Post by Bensos » Wed Jul 12, 2023 10:36 am

Ive been diploma qualified for about 7 years and in that time in my centre have slowly accumulated a bunch of additional tasks simply because im the one most able to do them. Before i career transitioned to childcare i worked a lot in project management, mentoring and charities so have a lot of admin/people management skills. I now hold the job titles of 2IC, Educational Leader for the Center as well as the kinder room leader in absence of a permanent ECT.

A recent substantial health issue has made me really re-evaluate the amount of workload i have. In my defence i have been asking for the last two years to have my workload reduced, delegate roles to others - no one wants to volunteer and new hires are all trainees as there is a resource shortage in our area. My health has suffered greatly to the point of now needing a surgical procedure because i have been avoiding a chronic health issue because work is always short staffed.

I need to leave, the only way i can preserve my health is to go somewhere else. years of asking for help even when escalating to managers has done nothing.

What are alternative or adjacent career paths? I love being an Educational Leader - supporting others to learn and think differently about how they engage with training etc. My strengths are more in the office/admin - although i do love working with children.

Ive checked out all the usual job seeking suspects, but does anyone have a suggestion for role alternatives? Is there a need for mentors in Early Childhood or Educational Leadership?

Id love to hear suggestions

Lorina

Re: Career Change Options - Outside of the classroom