Thinking of Setting Up a Weekend Care Programme, Many Questions

Questions related to program, planning, assessing, managing documentation, implementing EYLF, MTOP, NQS and other approved frameworks.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
jaemiedelapena

Thinking of Setting Up a Weekend Care Programme, Many Questions

Post by jaemiedelapena » Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:12 am

Hi there,

I have been working in childcare for 3 years now and have noticed a demand in weekend care for kids. I was thinking of setting up a small simple program where parents can drop their kids off at a location and me and another experienced carer take the kids away to an activity plus the park for the day where they are picked up at the same spot.

There are many things I want to know before starting this

-What are the legislative barriers that stop me from doing this?
-Do I need any certifications/qualifications, from my understanding this is basically 'group babysitting'
-What are the laws of child food preparation when serving lunch etc.?
-In NSW what is the limit to number of carers vs kids?
-What are the rates I could charge for this, since it is the weekend plus a one off service vs a daily service I was thinking of charging a $280 flat rate to pay for both carers and activity plus gas etc.
-Any other holes in my plan?

Sincerely

Lorina

Re: Thinking of Setting Up a Weekend Care Programme, Many Questions

Post by Lorina » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:37 am

Hi There,