New Preschool Educator - Where Do I start With Documenting

Questions related to program, planning, assessing, managing documentation, implementing EYLF, MTOP, NQS and other approved frameworks.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Shane Wall

New Preschool Educator - Where Do I start With Documenting

Post by Shane Wall » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:25 am

Hi everyone,

My name's Shane and I'm new to the early childcare world. I've been a primary school teacher the last 17 years. Term 4 last year I moved into our schools preschool and am there for the remainder of this year at least. I've also just started studying my GradCert in EC through Murdoch Uni.
I have to say it has been my best career move yet, I absolutely love preschool....BUT I am completely lost with the paperwork side of things!! I have no idea what I am supposed to be documenting, how it is meant to look and how much there is meant to be! I think I need like a EC for Dummies book!! If anyone could dumb it down just a little and explain it for a complete newbie that would be GREAT!

Shane
Last edited by Lorina on Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: topic heading has been edited

Lorina

Re: New Preschool Educator - Where Do I start With Documenting

Post by Lorina » Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:41 am

Hi Shane,

Welcome to Aussie Childcare Network and welcome to this industry! :wave: It seems like you found your passion for teaching the little ones! LOL!

Alright so the documentation side of things gets a little confusing, especially for a beginner. The main types of documentation that is required are the following:

1) Curriculum Plan - this can either be a daily or weekly plan of the experiences that the children will engage in throughout the week.The experiences put onto the curriculum plan (program) should also have a learning outcome (EYLF) that the children achieve while completing the activity.