Documentation and Portfolios

Questions related to program, planning, assessing, managing documentation, implementing EYLF, MTOP, NQS and other approved frameworks.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Alexandria Hruncev

Documentation and Portfolios

Post by Alexandria Hruncev » Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:43 pm

Hello everyone!

I've been trying to read all of the topics, but I am a little overwhelmed, so I decided to make my own topic... hope this makes sense! This is going to be a big one!

I have been working in childcare for about 9 years and had a break for 7 months in a different career. I have realised that working with children is where I need to be so I'm back in as a room leader after Easter break 2015 in an 18 months to 24 months room.

I am half way through my bachelor of Ed: ECE and will be starting it back up in June.

I am trying to get my head around the EYLF before heading into the position. I used it prior, however, I need to clarify a few things as I am unsure if I am doing way too much work than what is needed.

I will be having a weekly program for each group as the room is already broken into 3 groups. As a reflection of the day/program each group will do a daily diary. Then I will conduct a weekly reflection of the programs, ensuring that each groups analyses are included.

Can the daily diary be used as a daily reflection? - it seems like it can from what I have read?
Also, can the DD be used in the portfolios or anything like this? How could this be achieved? Anyone doing this currently? (such as a group ob)

This is where I get really confused!