New teaching job

Questions relating to staff, dealing with parents, work ethics, implementing regulations, room management, supporting team members, motivating staff, etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
law92
Helper
Helper

New teaching job

Post by law92 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:19 pm

Hi

So yesterday I just scored myself a kindergarten teaching position within a local child care centre which I'm excited about. However, I've only ever worked as an assistant before as well as doing uni pracs so I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed about running my own room. The enrolments in the kindy are quite low at the moment so there's only 13 on Monday, 8 Tuesday and 12 Wednesday. And I'm still studying my degree at uni - I'm halfway through have another 2 years to go so have to try and balance work and study.
When I had the interview yesterday the owner stressed the importance of having learning activities for the children from 8.30 to 4.30 so I'm a bit nervous about having enough planned to cover that entire time.
Can anyone explain the webbing to me? I've never done this before and not sure what it's about. They told me in the interview that I need to do webbing and a personal reflection every week, as well as 1 learning story per child a month.
Also can anyone suggest some essential EYLF templates that could help me with this documentation? And for those of you who work in a kindy room can you suggest a room routine that works well?
Sorry for all the questions I'm just really nervous, stressed and anxious about starting this new position.

leenie
Participator
Participator

Re: New teaching job

Post by leenie » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:40 pm

Hi Well congratulations, having your own room.

What State are you in? I'm assuming you are doing an early childhood degree?