Work while studying Diploma, no previous certifications

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
imostrom

Work while studying Diploma, no previous certifications

Post by imostrom » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:40 pm

Hi,

I recently started studying my Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care online, and I am hoping to be able to work while I study. What are my hopes of being employed with no previous certifications, can I be employeed before completing it? I am new to this system, being from Sweden, and am finding it all very confusing and difficult.

I am also wondering what wage I would be looking at before being qualified? I have a son that I would need to enrol in daycare, so am hoping that I won't end up losing money paying the ~100 dollars a day for his daycare. ( We are not eligible for any rebates).

Thanks.. :)

Lorina

Re: Work while studying Diploma, no previous certifications

Post by Lorina » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:27 pm

Hi Imostrom,

You are able to work while you are still studying as you will be actively working towards your qualification. According to ACECQA:

A person who meets requirements 1 to 4 below may be counted as a certificate III qualified educator. They must also give the approved provider documentary evidence from their course provider that they meet requirements 2 to 4.

A person who meets all five requirements below may be counted as a diploma qualified educator. They must give the approved provider documentary evidence from their course provider that they meet requirements 2 to 5.

The requirements for actively working towards an approved qualification are:
being enrolled in a course for the qualification
having commenced the course
making satisfactory progress towards completion
meeting the requirements to maintain enrolment