Unqualified Relieving Jobs

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
vicharl

Unqualified Relieving Jobs

Post by vicharl » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi I am new to the forum and the country. I have 10 years experience as a Childcare reliever in Auckland, i have no formal qualifications.
I am looking at doing similar work here now,i am in my late forties so feel too old to be starting to study. I am happy to just get casual work,
part time, when and where needed.Not sure where to start, do i need a police check, are there agencies i can join, or shall i just take my CV
to local Childcare Centre's. Any help much appreciated.

niddy71
Participator
Participator

Re: Unqualified Relieving Jobs

Post by niddy71 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:12 am

Hi,
Unfortunately you can't work in Childcare here without holding or studying at least towards Cert III..
Not sure where in Oz you are I am in QLD and you need a Blue Card to work in CC.. Some might ask for Police Check..

I have just recently started studying my Cert III and I am in my 40's as have got a job in before/after school care and you either need to hold or be studying cert III at least to work there..Even thou I hold my Cert III and IV in Education Support...

OH and welcome to Australia from another Kiwi.....What part of Oz are you living in....

vicharl

Post by vicharl » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:01 am

Hi. I am in Regents Park, Queensland. I have just been looking at the cert 111 in Childcare. Thanks for the info.

kellymm20
Helper
Helper

Post by kellymm20 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:35 am

I started studying the diploma and approached a centre to do my work experience there. After 1 day she asked if i was interested in any casual work and i said yes. Since then she calls me whenever someone is off sick. I already had a blue card (which you will need prior to working).

niddy71
Participator
Participator