Taking Certificate 3 course while waiting for QCT assessment

General discussions on Certificate 3 and Certificate 4 in Children's Services and Childcare Traineeship FAQs.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Certificate 3. Please refer to Cert 3 Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
Doreen C.

Taking Certificate 3 course while waiting for QCT assessment

Post by Doreen C. » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Hello everyone!

I just need some advice here with my dilemma in starting my study and career with child care industry.

So I am a licensed primary teacher overseas (Philippines) and now wanted to start my teaching career in Australia since now I am permanently living here.
ACEQA already assessed my qualifications and said nothing can be credited for Child Care Industry and that I should try with Queensland College of Teachers then whatever the result of the assessment with them, then I can start my study for Early Childhood Education whatever is needed.

QCT got my application 07/07/2015 and it is stated on their website that for overseas applicants it will only take 12 weeks to get the result. NOw it is already more that 12 weeks and still nothing is happening. I already spoke with them and they said all docs needed were all received and just waiting for the finalization of the assessment. But they can't tell me the exact date to release my assessment result. So frustrating!

So while waiting for that assessment result I decided to get a volunteer work in a Child Care Centre near my place and now they are offering me a casual job position once I started with my study. But I have no idea when to start since QCT is not giving me anything yet.

I spoke with TAFE and they said they can't offer me any appropriate Bridging Course unless my assessment with QCT is released.