SAHM returning to the workforce

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
BelleT

SAHM returning to the workforce

Post by BelleT » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:36 pm

Hi everyone :wave:

I'm so glad that i have found this forum were I will be able to communicate with people that are currently in the Early childhood industry. My question is I have been a stay at home mum to my daughter for the past 4 years and I am looking at gaining employment back in the childcare industry. I nearly completed a diploma in ECE back in 2004 with only a few subjects needing completion for me to gain my full Diploma, does anyone know how i can go about this? and do centres actually hire anyone that has not completed a diploma or would it be best if i completed my diploma first before attempting to gain employment? The reason i did not complete my diploma was that i moved overseas prior to finishing my Diploma back in 2004. While overseas I worked in an early childhood centre for roughly 6 years as a full time teacher, this is were i have pretty much gained my experience in the Early childhood industry.

Now that my daughter is 4 I am wanting to get myself ready to gain employment in the industry again as she is off to school in January next year. My question is does anyone know how I can explain the major gap in my resume? do i state i have been a SAHM in my cover letter? what are the chances of centres looking to hire SAHM returning to the workforce? Any help in regards to this would really be appreciated. I am currently located in Queensland.

Thanking you all in advance :)

Lorina

Re: SAHM returning to the workforce

Post by Lorina » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:10 am

Hi,

Welcome To Aussie Childcare Network! :wave: