Career Help

FAQs on qualifications, starting a childcare business, starting a new job, contracts etc.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Krish

Career Help

Post by Krish » Wed Sep 16, 2015 12:46 pm

Dear all,

I am new to Australia and have a permanent residency;I love to be with children,have worked with them back in my country though I don't have a formal education in childcare but planning to do a certificate III in early childcare and later a diploma.My long term goal would be to start a Childcare center.I am in a bit of dilemma whether to do my course with TAFE or St.George community college? because I might move out of Sydney and settle down in WA. My questions are:

1. If I study elsewhere other than TAFE will my course be recognized outside Sydney NSW(I have St.George Community college in mind)?
2. Will completing my diploma make me eligible to start a Childcare center in future?

Please help me to make a decision since the courses are starting in 15 days.

Lorina

Re: career help

Post by Lorina » Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi Krish,

Welcome to Aussie Childcare Network!

When running a childcare centre it's obviously best to have a Diploma or even a degree. A Diploma will give you all the necessary requirements for you to understand the law, regulations, eylf, NQF etc. Just having a Diploma may give you a basic idea but I also think you need experience. I would suggest you go and work in the industry before you open your centre just to gain an idea on how they are run, how they are setup etc. There is quite alot required and it's actually quite a hard process to open and manage a centre. You need to be able to deal with staff, families and have a very very good understanding on the National Framework, Quality Areas and much more!