Am i being paid correctly?

Discussions on Childcare Wages. Are you getting paid the right amount? Just started a new position and not sure of your wages? Ask here and you'll find your answers.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What
Madds

Am i being paid correctly?

Post by Madds » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:12 am

Hi there. First time posting on here but i use this site a lot!
I had a question about my wages as i think i am being underpaid but just wanted to check first, although everything i have read seems to confirm my suspicion. I graduated with my diploma in July 2014. In August i began working part time (37.5 hours a week which is what we are all employed as) as group leader in the toddlers room. I didn't really understand about the levels of pay and qualifications so i never questioned it until recently when i noticed that i am being paid at level 3.4 at $22.11 p/h. However from what i have read from numerous websites if you are diploma qualified and a group leader you are meant to start at level 4.1 which is a fair bit more an hour... I am 21 now and started when i was 20 so i wasn't regarded as a junior. I haven't talked to my boss yet because i just wanted to check first. Can anyone please tell me if i am supposed to start at level 4.1 instead of 3.4 in my situation?
Thank you!

Lorina

Re: Am i being paid correctly?

Post by Lorina » Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:00 am

As a Diploma qualified room leader you are supposed to be paid at Level 4.1. Level 3.4 which you have been paid is an assistant Diploma's wage. Once you have completed a year with your Diploma qualification then your level increases to Level 4.2. At Level 4.2 your hourly wage is $24.07/per hour but this is only once you have completed a year with your Diploma (you mentioned you received it in July 2014). At Level 4.1 your hourly wage is $23.71/per hour. The rates mentioned above is before tax just to be clear...