Work & Holiday Maker trying to enroll into Cert 3- any advice is appreciated :)

General discussions on Certificate 3 and Certificate 4 in Children's Services and Childcare Traineeship FAQs.
Forum rules
Please read: Forum Rules and Regulations and Where to Post What

IMPORTANT: Do not post Assignment Questions in this forum. This forum is for general questions related to Certificate 3. Please refer to Cert 3 Assignment Support Forum for questions related to Assignments!
thalia1410

Work & Holiday Maker trying to enroll into Cert 3- any advice is appreciated :)

Post by thalia1410 » Sun May 04, 2014 6:46 pm

Dear All,

Hi i am a Newbie here and have enjoyed reading this forum.
I am from Indonesia and was a preschool teacher (2-3 years old) for more than 2 years in an International preschool ran by Australian principal and vice principal. I completed a Master degree in Early Childhood Education from MOnash university through a distance learning from Singapore in early 2012. I came to Melbourne, Australia in January 2014 on Work and Holiday Visa and intended to find a casual or contract position in Early Childhood Education field. However, I just found out that Master of Early Childhood Education is actually not intended for teaching, thus that makes me an unqualified teacher in Australia. It breaks my heart as I am so passionate in this field and I have referral letters from both supervisors & colleagues & Parents. According to ACECQA, they did not assess my quality as an educator, they are only assesing my qualifications against the government's requirements. So i guess I can't do much unless I enroll into a Cert 3. I don't mind taking Cert 3 as i believe all the knowledge will be an investment for me anyway.
I did get an offer to be a casual childcare worker but they want me to enroll into Cert 3 as well. However, my visa only allows me to take course that is shorter than 4 months. My questions are: